DOOBLIN PT2

Sunday, August 2

So, my day was so eventful on Saturday that I had to break this down into two blog posts. Today I woke up and got some OK sleep. I had to check out by 1030am but they kept my luggage. I first stopped at this place called The Bald Barista and had some good coffee. I then walked to the Guinness Factory, which is really hard to navigate when you don’t have a phone and it’s raining and you’re in a foreign country. Luckily, my good sense of direction got me there in one piece even though it decided to POUR down rain on my way there.

It was really crowded once I got to the storehouse since the Guinness Storehouse is the #1 visited place in Ireland. It wasn’t that special. They just showed you how they make beer. The most interesting part was watching an old tape of how they used to make the beer barrels, since they did it by hand without measuring tools (only a compass to check the circumference of the lid). Since I’m a geek I watched that whole process from the start to the end, which was about 15 minutes. They also had a taste testing room where you first enter into a dark corridor with strange lights and sounds and then an empty white room with barrels of smelly stuff. The lady said it was to stimulate all of your senses since that’s the best way to taste beer (or so they say). So they give you this cool mini pint and tell you how to taste it.

Blah blah blah, I skipped basically everything else and just went to the top so I could get my 16 euro pint of Guinness. I drank the whole thing in less than 5 minutes cos I wanted to get buzzed and I was bored all by myself and wanted to go walk around.

I somehow navigated back to the area I was in before to go to the Trinity College to see the Book of Kells. It cost me 9 euro to get in, UGH, but I saw the Book of Kells and it was pretty amazing. The guide the day before gave me more of a history lesson than the actual exhibit (just kidding but he explained it in the way where I would actually listen). The Irish Monks had written it on Vellum Paper or calfskin. They used different kinds of ink suggesting that trade was seen even back then. It was written in the 9th or 10th centuries and is one of the most popular books. The Irish should be very proud of this book.

I walked around more after the college but I was getting bored so I went back to the hostel, chilled for a bit, then took an hour long bus ride (since it was the public bus) to the airport. So many technical difficulties happen when I travel. First off, I was 20 cents short on the bus faire from the Hostel to the airport but the bus driver told me next time I know when I come to Ireland how much the bus costs, and let me come. Secondly, I bought a train and a bus from the airport but it was from the wrong airport so I had to book another bus but realized I booked the bus to the wrong station and at a later time. I also had to get my bag checked in since the flight was full. I didn’t bring my oyster card so I had no way of getting back home on public transportation since the stations were going to be closed by the time I got back into London, giving me no time to buy a bus ticket (the buses don’t take cash anymore which is stupid).

So, when I finally got to the London Stanstead airport, I kindly asked one of the bus drivers if he could take me even though it was for the wrong stop at the wrong time, he graciously let me come with no problem. When I got to the bus I kindly asked the bus driver if he could take me 3 stops to my stop even though I forgot my oyster card, he graciously let me in his bus without paying. I guess he would have felt bad knowing that it was 1am in the morning and I had a huge bag with me. He probably also saw that some random dude was talking to me at the bus station (who at first I thought was sketch but it turned out he just wanted to talk to me to keep me company since the buses take so long to come around during the night time). I’ve concluded that the people of London (and Dublin) are SOOOO NICE and I wish people in America were this nice. If people showed some kindness every once in a while, maybe less people would end up hating the world and wanting to kill everyone. We are the only developed nation where this amount of mass-shooting happens, and I believe it’s due to the lack of genuine and sense of community in our nation (and the obvious gun-laws).

Overall, my first experience traveling alone to a different country was a success! I made it home in one piece and that’s all that matters [:

DSC_1549 DSC_1550

The Guinness Storehouse

DSC_1553 DSC_1555 DSC_1560 DSC_1562 DSC_1566 DSC_1567 DSC_1570

A random church that I forgot the name of
DSC_1571

Trinity College (I couldn’t get a pic of the Book of Kells cos it said no photography :[ )

DSC_1574 DSC_1576 DSC_1577 DSC_1584 DSC_1581

Leave a Reply

