Harry Freaking Potter (Last official weekend)

Welp, alas, my last weekend (officially in London). As bittersweet as it is, I’m definitely going to miss this unique place. There is no better way than to end my London weekend with a trip to the Harry Potter Studio! Hayley, a girl in my program, organized a group of us to go on Saturday at 9:30! But I guess I’ll start with what happened on Friday first.

Friday, August 7

So, I had work today. I didn’t do anything productive at all, in fact, all I did was run around London going to different manufacturers and crap. So lets not talk about it. My roommates had planned to go out somewhere that night so we were getting ready. I pregammed and stuff, waiting for my roommates to get ready. Lalia’s friend didn’t end up coming until like 11pm, way past the time that we were going to go out. I didn’t want to go out because I had to wake up at 7am the next day. So, Carly, Drea and I decided that we should instead stay home and watch the Spice World movie! Since I was basically already drunk, we also decided to have a drinking game accompany the movie. Well, I guess I was the only one drinking because Drea is on antibiotics and can’t drink while Carly was drinking Cider but was bloated. So I was the only one getting completely hammered off of Buzzfeed’s Spice World Drinking Game . It was basically a shit show because I was Sporty Spice (as usual) and had to drink when she was wearing a track suit, rolled her eyes, exercises, or talks about sports. We also decided that out of all of our roommates, I of course am Sporty Spice, Drea is Scary Spice, Carly is Ginger Spice, Laila is Baby Space, and Madina is Posh Spice.

Ha nothing interesting happened, well I guess other than me who was ridiculously waisted cos I basically drank a half bottle of Vodka to myself. Spice World is too amazing not to get utterly hammered to, I mean come on, “I’m giving you everything, all the joy can bring, this I swear!” Then after the movie, I somehow took a shower, and I somehow washed the dishes, and made it in to bed at 2am in the morning LOL.

Saturday, August 8

So I had to wake up at 7 to be downstairs at 715, which I was still late to. I met all the girls downstairs and we took the tube to the train station. The train was only for about 20-30 minutes and once we got there, Harry Potter had a bus designated for people just going to the tour; the outside decorated with Harry Potter decal surrounding the bus.

When we got there, the anticipation was growing! “Harry Potter” was on the entrance of the building, and people were waiting for the doors to open. We got some coffee since we had some time before the tour started. We got in line once our time came, they even had “Harry under the cupboard” set as we waited in line. Our group was then led into a room where digital movie posters hung. Here they describe how the Harry Potter series was first discovered by producers and how it became to be such a huge phenomenon. Then we went into another cinema-like room, where Daniel Raddcliffe, Emma Watson, and Rupert Grint explained the building that we were in and the significance of all the people involved in the making of this film. It gave us a little insight as to what we were going to see and that the movies wouldn’t be what they were today if it wasn’t for the amazing team that worked to make the movies successful.

Once the movie was over, the screen rolled up to the “Entrance of Hogwarts” and the door led to the Grand Hall where all the eating and hat sorting took place. After that everyone pretty much took the tour at their own pace. There was so much to look at and watch and read about. It was really interesting learning all of the details and discrepancies that went into creating the film. They went through each main set and explained what the set builders, artists, costume designers, prop buyers had to go through when conceptualizing the set. The job seemed so fun especially for a world like Harry Potter/ I got butterbeer, sat on a simulated train like I was going to Hogwarts, and even saw a mini version of Hogwarts itself. IT WAS JUST SO AMAZING I CAN’T DESCRIBE EVERY LITTLE DETAIL TO YOU OR I’LL BE HERE ALL NIGHT. Just know that it took 3 hours to complete.

After that I went home, me and my flat mates decided to check out Borough Market. They sell a shit ton of bread and cheese there. So I got the best of both worlds and got a grilled cheese sammie. We then decided to check out a number of names pop-up shop, mostly known for selling the brand BBC–or Billionaire Boys Club. I got some clothing there and then we walked around Brick Lane, went to some vintage shops, got some street food, went to Box Park for some boba, and headed home.

Laila wanted me and Carly to come out with her and her cousins. So when I got home I took a nice hour nap. I then got some pho. Ate and got ready. Then went out. We went to her cousin’s apartment which took a long time, and if you didn’t know I was so fucking tired. We ended up going to some bar in Shoreditch. They had a dance floor and a ping pong table, but me and Carly were tired so we left early (she had to be up at 7am). Then I went to sleep

STUDIO TOUR HERE WE COME AT 830 IN THE MORNING
STUDIO TOUR HERE WE COME AT 830 IN THE MORNING
"The Cupboard Under the Stairs" is their smallest set
“The Cupboard Under the Stairs” is their smallest set

DSC_1636

Entrance into Hogwarts!
Entrance into Hogwarts!
Grand Hall
Grand Hall

DSC_1642

Yule Ball costumes, my favorite part of the 4th movie (even though I think the 4th movie was my favorite movie)
Yule Ball costumes, my favorite part of the 4th movie (even though I think the 4th movie was my favorite movie)
YAY I'm here!
YAY I’m here!
The boys dormitory
The boys dormitory
Prof Snape's Office
Prof Snape’s Office
Creepy part in the last movie
Creepy part in the last movie
Ministry of Magic fire stalls
Ministry of Magic fire stalls
Umbridge's office...so pink...soo many kitties
Umbridge’s office…so pink…soo many kitties
I'm on my way to Hogwart's yall!
I’m on my way to Hogwart’s yall!
Where it all started, Privet Drive
Where it all started, Privet Drive
Butterbeer!
Butterbeer!
Diagon Alley!
Diagon Alley!
Mini (but quiet big) model of Hogwarts
Mini (but quiet big) model of Hogwarts

The rest of the day

Me n my grilled CHEEESE
Me n my grilled CHEEESE
a number of names* pop-up shop
a number of names* pop-up shop
All the Bape was sold out tho
All the Bape was sold out tho

Sunday, August 9

HAPPY 21ST BIRTHDAY PATRICK!!! (My baby brother if anyone didn’t know). The first thing I did this morning when I woke up (naturally at 1130am because why not) I FaceTimed him and my mom who is visiting him for his birthday. After that I got ready, went to Brick Lane again to try to go to the pop up shop again, but it was so freaking crowded today compared to yesterday ( like 5x more crowded) and there was a line out the door. So I said fuck that and went to a vintage shop and found a cute skirt and pants for cheaper than I would buy at that popup lol. Sorry this is a bit rushed but I’m hecka tired and its already 130 here. Anyways, it was so fucking hot today I almost passed out on the Central Line (tube) going from Brick Lane to Nottinghill. They don’t have AC in the tubes which can be quite bad since the tubes can be really crowded at times.

I ended up going to Portabello Road to check it out but there was nothing to really do, plus I was hot and tired so I went home and now I’m here trying to write this rushed blog. Ok goodnight.

Author: Mel

A blog about a girl who likes sneakers, clothes, tea, and dogs, but really just trying to find her way through the world.

1 thought on “Harry Freaking Potter (Last official weekend)”

Leave a Reply

