I GOT MY FIRST BIG GIRL JOB!

Well, well, well…it’s been a while since I’ve last posted on my blog…about two months to be exact. I really haven’t had a lot of downtime, since most of it has been working, doing chores, or being busy. Let me break down the last few months since I’ve been MIA.

The month of September and October–

These months were spent re-adjusting to life back in America. This meant FINDING A JOB. My parents were really pushing me to find a full-time job, and made sure to drill it in my head that this was my NUMBER ONE PRIORITY. As I traveled from San Ramon to Oakland to the City, I didn’t particularly stay in one place. I got my job back at Urban Outfitters while I looked for a “real job”. This task was daunting, because who really knows what they want to do in life? My parents told me to just find any job that pays well, but I knew that I wanted a job that spoke to my passion, and this passion was fashion. After all, most of my job experience has been in fashion, not to mention I had just came back from a fashion internship in London.

So, I spent my off days applying to as many jobs as I could. Craigslist, Indeed, LookSharp, InternMatch were my most visited sites. I could crank out a job application in 10 minutes or less. It’s what I did on my downtime and I actually enjoyed it. I had a lot of job interviews, one was for a scam “marketing” agency–where they apparently do direct marketing for top companies like the Oakland A’s, Sacramento Kings, the Peppermill in Reno and other notable agencies. They invited me for a day of shadowing, where I observe a team lead on the field. Well, yeah it turned out to be a door-to-door sales company (but in this case they went from business-to-business) and sold to the employees, which is kind of illegal. They failed to mention what we’d be doing in the interview and failed to mention that it’s a SALES job. So that was a bust. I also had an interview at Tobi.com for a Social Media Coordinator–which I really wanted since I love the web store and the job position, but they ended up moving the position down to their LA office.

I adopted a recruiter from the company FourthFloorFashion, a recruiting agency for specifically fashion jobs. This was amazing, they would send me job openings from Levi’s and Gap, to see if any of them were a potential match. Of course, I said yes to all of them since I just want to WORK. Finally, the last week of October, I had an interview with Gap, for the position of copywriter. It was a contract job, part-time, and only for 3 months. Although my parents said that I should find a full-time job with benefits, I went for it anyway. The interviewer was so nice and it seemed more like a conversation than an actual interview, which was a lot less stressful than the other job interviews that I went to. (Not to mention I get very nervous in interviews and I am terrible at on-the-spot type questions).

After the interview, they gave me a “copywriter test” to see if I could actually perform the job. The next week, they called me in last minute (on Thursday) to come in that Friday to speak with the managers and creative directors of that department. I quickly had to find someone to cover my shift and went in for a second interview. This interview was a little more intimidating, since I was speaking to two managers. However, since this is a position I really felt like I could excel in, the answers to their questions felt very natural and were so fluid compared to my past interviews. I spoke from my passion and my heart. The next week I got a call from my recruiter officially offering me the position and explaining that I would be starting next week.

So, here I am, my second week at Gap Inc. I am “officially” the new Junior Copywriter for Gap Factory, and I couldn’t be more excited. My first week (which was last week) was very calm and chill. I’ll be working for Gap and Urban simultaneously, since Gap is only part-time (20 hours a week). Alex, the main copywriter for Gap Factory, is my mentor and one of the sweetest people I’ve met. She is so understanding, compassionate, talented and helpful in guiding me in the right direction. She makes it a point to introduce me to everyone to make me feel included, while making the process clear, concise and easy for me to transition into a REAL JOB. I couldn’t be more appreciative, excited and motivated to start the newest chapter in my life. This is everything I’ve wanted and more: a position I feel comfortable with in an industry I am passionate about.

YAY for the future! I can’t wait to see what it has in-store.

 

Author: Mel

A blog about a girl who likes sneakers, clothes, tea, and dogs, but really just trying to find her way through the world.

Leave a Reply

